Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship Committee Report - 2022

The Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship committee is proud to award the Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship to the following 10 swimmers and divers: Joanne Arbic (Salt Area), Benjamin Bickel (Otsego), Andrew Brenner (South Lyon), Nathan Cohee (East Kentwood), Elizabeth Dylewski (Bloomfield Hills), Jacob Fischer (South Lyon), Margaret Monroe (Eaton Rapids), Weston Schroeder (Royal Oak), Abigail Sullivan (Otsego), Seth Thompson (Manistee). The scholarship committee was made up of three MISCA members. We used an objective scoring criteria that has been developed over the past 25 years.

The MISCA Scholarship was first awarded in 1992 and was re-named the Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship in memory of Rick Edwards. Rick Edwards was high school teacher, coach, and official for 37 years and was a leader and mentor for the hundreds of swimmers, divers, and water polo players throughout his memorable career. Rick's true and unparalleled passion was for the development of his swimmers not just on a competitive level, but in their human and personal growth. Rick looked at his dedication and commitment to swimming in a way that invigorated and challenged his athletes and inspired fellow coaches. He devoted long hours to improve aquatics on the organizational level as a member of local, state, and national organizations, always trying to enhance the broad world of swimming and water polo. Rick had an unselfish devotion to developing not only the technical swimmer, but most importantly the character and positive attributes of the highest nature for every person he coached or taught. Rick Edwards lost his battle with cancer in 2009, but has left a lasting impression on the entire aquatics community.

21 student athletes from 17 different schools applied for the scholarship. There were 9 boys and 12 girls who applied. Six of the applications were incomplete. All of the applicants were very deserving of the scholarship. As always, we wish that we could have awarded more. There were many gifted applicants who did not receive money. The quality of this field is a tribute to the many swimming and diving programs in the state of Michigan and the character and quality of the type of athlete that chooses to swim or dive. Many of the personal statements testified to the importance of swimming in helping them develop discipline and time management skills. Congratulations to all who applied.

Once again the 2021 winners of the scholarship are:

Joanne Arbic Salt Area High School Benjamin Bickel Otsego High School Andrew Brenner South Lyon High School Nathan Cohee East Kentwood High School Elizabeth Dylewski Bloomfield Hills High School South Lyon High School Jacob Fischer Margaret Monroe Eaton Rapids High School Weston Schroeder Royal Oak High School Abigail Sullivan Otsego High School Seth Thompson Manistee High School