Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship Committee Report - 2020

The Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship committee is proud to award the Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship to the following 10 swimmers and divers: Hunter Converse (East Grand Rapids), Rebecca Costigan (Holly), Trent Griffith (Wayne Memorial), Jamahl Hogan (West Ottawa), Katherine Hutter (Mercy), Justin Kneeshaw (Northview), Jacey Needham (Royal Oak), Alexandra Pannemann (Chippewa Valley), Sydney Peterson (North Muskegon), and Delaney Wesolek (John Glenn). The scholarship committee was made up of three MISCA members. We used an objective scoring criteria that has been developed over the past 25 years. This year, in the era of COVID-19, we met virtually, but everything else was the same as it has always been.

The MISCA Scholarship was first awarded in 1992 and was re-named the Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship in memory of Rick Edwards. Rick Edwards was high school teacher, coach, and official for 37 years and was a leader and mentor for the hundreds of swimmers, divers, and water polo players throughout his memorable career. Rick's true and unparalleled passion was for the development of his swimmers not just on a competitive level, but in their human and personal growth. Rick looked at his dedication and commitment to swimming in a way that invigorated and challenged his athletes and inspired fellow coaches. He devoted long hours to improve aquatics on the organizational level as a member local, state, and national organizations always trying to enhance the broad world of swimming and water polo. Rick had an unselfish devotion to developing not only the technical swimmer, but most importantly the character and positive attributes of the highest nature for every person he coaches or taught. Rick Edwards lost his battle with cancer in 2009, but has left a lasting impression on the entire aquatics community.

34 Student athletes from 24 different schools applied for the scholarship. There were 20 boys and 14 girls who applied. 6 girls and 4 boys were awarded the scholarship. Three of the applications were incomplete.

All of the applicants were very deserving of the scholarship. As always, we wish that we could have awarded more. There were many gifted applicants who did not receive money. The quality of this field is a tribute to the many swimming and diving programs in the state of Michigan and the character and quality of the type of athlete that chooses to swim or dive. Many of the personal statements testified to the importance of swimming in helping them develop discipline and time management skills. Congratulations to all who applied.

Recipient	School	MISCA Coach
Hunter Converse	East Grand Rapids	Butch Briggs
Rebecca Costigan	Holly	Jessica Drogemuller
Trenth Griffith	Wayne Memorial	Mike Greuber
Jamahl Hogan	West Ottawa	Steve Bowyer
Katherine Hutter	Mercy	Mike Venos
Justin Kneeshaw	Northview	Rob Damuth
Jacey Needham	Royal Oak	Tracy Kalinowski
Alexandra Pannemann	Chippewa Valley	Shawn Kornoelje
Sydney Peterson	North Muskegon	Michael Homan
Delaney Wesolek	John Glenn	Mike Darbee

Once again the 2020 winners of the scholarship are: