The Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship committee is proud to award the Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship to the following 10 swimmers and divers: Ryan Armbrustmacher (DeWitt), Justin Beemer (Fenton), Kiara Bromley (Onekama), Adam Coe (Otsego), Summer Edwards (North Farmington), Kaylin Gray (DeWitt), Jillian Jaczkowski (Chippewa Valley), Brock Petrak (St. John's), Cecilia Rivet (Grand Ledge), and Lindsey Wood (Ionia). The scholarship committee was made up of three MISCA members. We used an objective scoring criteria that has been developed over the past 25 years.

The MISCA Scholarship was first awarded in 1992 and was re-named the Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship this past season in memory of Rick Edwards. Rick Edwards was high school teacher, coach, and official for 37 years and was a leader and mentor for the hundreds of swimmers, divers, and water polo players throughout his memorable career. Rick's true and unparalleled passion was for the development of his swimmers not just on a competitive level, but in their human and personal growth. Rick looked at his dedication and commitment to swimming in a way that invigorated and challenged his athletes and inspired fellow coaches. He devoted long hours to improve aquatics on the organizational level as a member local, state, and national organizations always trying to enhance the broad world of swimming and water polo. Rick had an unselfish devotion to developing not only the technical swimmer, but most importantly the character and positive attributes of the highest nature for every person he coaches or taught. Rick Edwards lost his battle with cancer in 2009, but has left a lasting impression on the entire aquatics community.

34 Student athletes from 22 different schools applied for the scholarship. There were 14 boys and 20 girls who applied. 4 boys and 6 girls were awarded the scholarship. Three of the applications were incomplete. 8 of the 9 MISCA zones submitted applications and 6 of the 9 zones had a recipient of the award. There were at least 2 applications from each zone except 3,4,6 and 9. Zone 7 led the way with had 11 applications. As a school, Fenton led the way with 4 applications.

All of the applicants were very deserving of the scholarship. As always, we wish that we could have awarded more. There were many gifted applicants who did not receive money. The quality of this field is a tribute to the many swimming and diving programs in the state of Michigan and the character and quality of the type of athlete that chooses to swim or dive. Many of the personal statements testified to the importance of swimming in helping them develop discipline and time management skills. Congratulations to all who applied.

## Once again the 2017 winners of the scholarship are:

Recipient	School	MISCA Coach	Zone
Ryan Armbrustmacher	DeWitt	Brock Delaney	7
Justin Beemer	Fenton	Brad Jones	8
Kiara Bromley	Onekama	Corey VanFleet	5
Adam Coe	Otsego	Darryl Belton	6
Summer Edwards	North Farmington	Mike Harfoot	2
Kaylin Gray	DeWitt	Greg Brace	7
Jillian Jaczkowski	Chippewa Valley	Suzanne Murray	1
Brock Petrak	St. John's	Makarauskas	7
Cecilia Rivet	Grand Ledge	Ian Townshend	7
Lindsey Wood	Ionia	Amy Fuller	7