Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship Committee Report

The Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship committee is proud to award the Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship to the following 8 swimmers and divers: **Anna Berezovsky** (Walled Lake Central), **Brian Cunningham-Rhoads** (Ostego), **Rachel Dery** (Ferndale), **Ashley Henderson** (Lansing Christian), **Todd Maslyk** (Plymouth), **Carly Mellos** (Grosse Pointe North), **Jadzia Parker** (Albion), and **Sierra Schatz** (Ann Arbor Huron). The scholarship committee was made up of three MISCA members. We used an objective scoring critera that has been developed over the past 19 years.

The MISCA Scholarship was first awarded in 1992 and in 2010 was re-named the Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship in memory of Rick Edwards. Rick Edwards was high school teacher, coach, and official for 37 years and was a leader and mentor for the hundreds of swimmers, divers, and water polo players throughout his memorable career. Rick's true and unparalleled passion was for the development of his swimmers not just on a competitive level, but in their human and personal growth. Rick looked at his dedication and commitment to swimming in a way that invigorated and challenged his athletes and inspired fellow coaches. He devoted long hours to improve aquatics on the organizational level as a member local, state, and national organizations always trying to enhance the broad world of swimming and water polo. Rick had an unselfish devotion to developing not only the technical swimmer, but most importantly the character and positive attributes of the highest nature for every person he coaches or taught. Rick Edwards lost his battle with cancer in 2009, but has left a lasting impression on the entire aquatics community.

22 Student athletes from 17 different schools applied for the scholarship. This is an decrease of 4 applications from last year. There were 8 boys and 14 girls who applied. This is 8 fewer boys who applied than last year, but 2 more girls. Three of the applications were incomplete (one or more required components were not submitted). 7 of the 8 MISCA zones had applications submitted from them (Zone 5 did not have any applications) and 6 of the 8 zones had a recipient of the award. Zone 3 led the way with 7 applications and 1 winner. There were 4 applications and 2 winners from both zones 4 & 6. Zone 1 had 4 applications and 1 winner, while zones 2 & 7 each had 1 application and 1 winner. Zone 8 had 1 application.

For the third straight year we were able to award 8 scholarships. All of the applicants were very deserving of the scholarship. We wish that we could have awarded more. Unfortunately this means that there were many gifted applicants who did not receive money. The quality of this field is a tribute to the many swimming and diving programs in the state of Michigan and the character and quality of the type of athlete that chooses to swim or dive. Many of the personal statements testified to the importance of swimming in helping them develop discipline and time management skills. Congratulations to all who applied.

Once again the 2012 winners of the scholarship are:

Recipient	School	Coach	Zone
Anna Berezovsky	Walled Lake Central	Samantha Pelt	4
Brian Cunningham-Rhoads Ostego		Darryl Belton	6
Rachel Dery	Ferndale	Katie Jeffrey	2
Ashley Henderson	Lansing Christian	Alexis Ewen	7
Todd Maslyk	Plymouth	Doug Schade	3
Carly Mellos	Grosse Pointe North	Mike O'Connor	1
Jadzia Parker	Albion	Kim Waito	6
Sierra Schatz	Ann Arbor Huron	Jennifer Wilkening	3