## Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship Committee Report

The Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship committee is proud to award the Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship to the following 8 swimmers and divers: **Lauren Brown** (Grosse IIe), **Eli Cornblath** (Ann Arbor Pioneer), **Brandon Harnos** (Wayne Memorial), **Erik Johnson** (Grand Haven), **Jennifer Jones** (Northville), **Kavitha Iyengar** (Lansing Catholic), **Kendal Novak** (Romeo), and **Dylan Shearer** (Milan). The scholarship committee was made up of three MISCA members. We used an objective scoring critera that has been developed over the past 19 years.

The MISCA Scholarship was first awarded in 1992 and in 2010 was re-named the Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship in memory of Rick Edwards. Rick Edwards was high school teacher, coach, and official for 37 years and was a leader and mentor for the hundreds of swimmers, divers, and water polo players throughout his memorable career. Rick's true and unparalleled passion was for the development of his swimmers not just on a competitive level, but in their human and personal growth. Rick looked at his dedication and commitment to swimming in a way that invigorated and challenged his athletes and inspired fellow coaches. He devoted long hours to improve aquatics on the organizational level as a member local, state, and national organizations always trying to enhance the broad world of swimming and water polo. Rick had an unselfish devotion to developing not only the technical swimmer, but most importantly the character and positive attributes of the highest nature for every person he coaches or taught. Rick Edwards lost his battle with cancer in 2009, but has left a lasting impression on the entire aquatics community.

28 Student athletes from 22 different schools applied for the scholarship. This is an increase of 4 applications from last year. There were 16 boys and 12 girls who applied. This is the same number of boys who applied last year, but 4 more girls applications. Three of the applications were incomplete (one or more required components were not submitted). 7 of the 8 MISCA zones had applications submitted from them (Zone 2 did not have any applications) and 5 of the 8 zones had a recipient of the award. Zone 3 led the way with 8 applications. There was one application from zones 6 & 8. Zone 5 had 4 applications, zone 7 had 5 applications, and zone 4 had 7 applications.

For the second straight year we were able to award 8 scholarships. All of the applicants were very deserving of the scholarship. We wish that we could have awarded more. Unfortunately this means that there were many gifted applicants who did not receive money. The quality of this field is a tribute to the many swimming and diving programs in the state of Michigan and the character and quality of the type of athlete that chooses to swim or dive. Many of the personal statements testified to the importance of swimming in helping them develop discipline and time management skills. Congratulations to all who applied.

5	•		
<u>Recipient</u>	School	Coach	Zone
Lauren Brown	Grosse lle	Mike Holtz	4
Eli Cornblath	Ann Arbor Pioneer	Dennis Hill	4
Brandon Harnos	Wayne Memorial	Mike Greuber	3
Erik Johnson	Grand Haven	Mike Keevan	5
Jennifer Jones	Northville	Dayna Azzopardi	3
Kavitha Ivengar	Lansing Catholic/Waverly	David Hill	7
Kendal Novak	Romeo	Suzanne Trush	1
Dylan Shearer	Milan	Dan Heikka	4

Once again the 2010 winners of the scholarship are: