## Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship Committee Report

The Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship committee is proud to award the Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship to the following 8 swimmers and divers: Juliann Kascza (Trenton), Brianna Maroukis (Portage Northern), David Moore (Holland), Brad Melpolder (Hamilton), Calley Murphy (Seaholm), Timothy Oja (Henry Ford II), Adam Oxner (South Lyon), and Alyssa Rawling (Rochester). The scholarship committee was made up of three MISCA members, two swim coaches and one diving coach. We used an objective scoring critera that has been developed over the past 18 years.

The MISCA Scholarship was first awarded in 1992 and was re-named the Rick Edwards Memorial Scholarship this past season in memory of Rick Edwards. Rick Edwards was high school teacher, coach, and official for 37 years and was a leader and mentor for the hundreds of swimmers, divers, and water polo players throughout his memorable career. Rick's true and unparalleled passion was for the development of his swimmers not just on a competitive level, but in their human and personal growth. Rick looked at his dedication and commitment to swimming in a way that invigorated and challenged his athletes and inspired fellow coaches. He devoted long hours to improve aquatics on the organizational level as a member local, state, and national organizations always trying to enhance the broad world of swimming and water polo. Rick had an unselfish devotion to developing not only the technical swimmer, but most importantly the character and positive attributes of the highest nature for every person he coaches or taught. Rick Edwards lost his battle with cancer in 2009, but has left a lasting impression on the entire aquatics community.

24 Student athletes from 18 different schools applied for the scholarship. There were 16 boys and 8 girls who applied. 5 of the applications were incomplete (one or more required components were not submitted). All 8 MISCA zones had applications received from them and 6 of the 8 zones had a reciepent of the award. There were at least 2 applications from each zone except zone 1. Zone 3 led the way with 8 applications.

For the first time this year we were able to award 8 scholarships. We are pleased that we were able to award two more scholarships this year. All of the applicants were very deserving of the scholarship. We wish that we could have awarded more. There were many gifted applicants who did not receive money. The quality of this field is a tribute to the many swimming and diving programs in the state of Michigan and the character and quality of the type of athlete that chooses to swim or dive. Many of the personal statements testified to the importance of swimming in helping them develop discipline and time management skills. Congratulations to all who applied.

Once again the 2010 winners of the scholarship are:

Juliann Kascza (Trenton)	Brianna Maroukis (Portage Northern)
David Moore (Holland)	Brad Melpolder (Hamilton)
Calley Murphy (Seaholm)	Timothy Oja (Henry Ford II)
Adam Oxner (South Lyon)	Alyssa Rawling (Rochester)