MISCA SCHOLARSHIP REPORT 2008

Are you aware that since the program was established in 1992, MISCA has awarded 95 athletes a total of \$61,750 in scholarships? This year we had 23 applicants for the six \$1000 scholarships, equaling last year's number. As usual we wished we could have awarded a scholarship to all of the applicants since all were deserving. Seventeen of the applicants scored 800 points or more with nine of those scoring over 900 points. Because only 6 scholarships were available, that left many highly gifted applicants who did not receive money. As with many things in life, the real failure would have occurred by not trying at all. The quality of the field is a great tribute to all of the swimming programs that had applicants and demonstrates the overall quality of individuals that are, in part, produced in interscholastic swimming. Many of the personal statements testified to the importance of swimming in helping them develop discipline and time management skills. Congratulations to all who applied; you are clearly the hope of our future.

Again this year, every zone was represented. Zones 6 and 7 each had four applicants, with zones 2, 4, 5 and 8 having three each. Please don't be discouraged because an outstanding candidate from your school didn't win. As a reminder, some of the applications were not complete, thus hindering the applicant's chances. There are probably many deserving athletes who did not apply for a variety of reasons. Coaches and athletes need to get the word out to the junior class to start thinking about this amazing opportunity now, rather than waiting until next March. In these times of cutbacks and budget constraints, the field should be even more competitive.

Due to Rick Edwards' surgery, this year's committee met at the Lansing Holiday Inn for about four hours on Sunday, April 20, 2008 to determine the winners. Thanks again to Rick Edwards for chairing the committee and taking care of the majority of work before the actual meeting. Other members on this year's committee were Mary Ann Egnatuk, Jenni Wilkening, Craig Oldham and Butch Briggs. Using objective scoring criteria that has been developed over the 16 years of the program's existence, the committee came up with the following six outstanding seniors, in alphabetical order:

CONGRATULATIONS TO OUR SIX RECIPIENTS

Rachel Bartels, Grand Blanc
Zach Britt, Albion
Zane Havens, Albion
Kirstin Hoffman, Battle Creek Central
Kevin Lodewyk, Bay City Central
Lauren Makarauskas, Saint Johns